Can we detect splits, divideds, bonus, and other price adjustments through python?

algotrader29
Say my algorithm have given a BUY signal

shareX bought at Rs289 with target Rs 315 CNC order.

Next day it goes Face Value Split from Rs10/- -> Rs2/- per share. its now trading in the range Rs 40-60.

1. Can we detect face value split through the python API/Historical?
2. How do we calculate the new target?
  • Matti
    @algotrader29 The Kite Connect is merely an execution platform. The corporate actions will need to be factored in on your end. The historical data is adjusted for corporate actions at the end of each week.
  • algotrader29
    @Nikhil.A Thanks for reply. I understand that we have to factor corporate decisions on our end.

I have 2 specific questions. I am new to this so sorry if my questions are very basic.

1. The yahoo historical api provide Stock Split/other price adjustment information

ref: http://luminouslogic.com/how-to-normalize-historical-data-for-splits-dividends-etc.htm

unfortunately this doesnot support NSE stocks.

After we detect we can use algorithm at our end to factor that change[split/reverse split etc]

Q - so is there any way we can find the same if there have been a split/dividend/priceadjustment by Zerodha python API if we provide a date range?

2. As you mentioned 'The historical data is adjusted for corporate actions at the end of each week.'

e.g NSE/COMPINFO have gone face value split (from Rs10/- -> Rs2/- per share) on 16-Feb-2017. prior this split date it was trading at Rs ~300 now after split its trading at Rs~50.

Q - so if we call the price of Compinfo before 16-Feb-2017 on historical api for this above scenario will we get the actual price as on that date i.e ~Rs 300 or we will get new adjusted price. Please note I am asking for the price as on 16th and before. Will the historical price be adjusted as per the latest corporate actions?
  • Matti