15minute opening range breakout strategy in python

samphel
Dear all,
As i'm new to python as well as new to algo trading, i'm writing my first algo code and it is 15min ORB strategy so following is the code i have written and i need some help regarding this matter, as i need to know weather my code will work or not.

def on_ticks(ws,ticks):
for data in ticks:
current_time = datetime.datetime.now()
crt_time = current_time.time()
break_out_start_time = datetime.time(9, 15)
break_out_end_time = datetime.time(9, 30)

if crt_time >= break_out_start_time:
h_value = [data_details["name"], data['ohlc']['high']]
l_value = [data_details["name"], data['ohlc']['low']]

if crt_time == break_out_end_time:
h_value = [data_details["name"], data['ohlc']['high']]
high.append(h_value)
l_value = [data_details["name"], data['ohlc']['low']]
low.append(l_value)

so with the above code what is happening is sometime updates are not there and all the time h_value and l_value are updated even after my breakout time of 9:30 is elapsed, please help me on this from any of members ,it would be great help.
  • Imran
    hii @samphel
    if you are a beginner in algo trading then this series can help you...
    also, I have shown how to make full orb code in some last lectures.

https://kite.trade/forum/discussion/6216/python-and-kiteconnect-series#latest
  • samphel
    hi @Imran i have gone through your video and i'm not able to find my answer in that , as you can see above i need to save high and low value of first 15 minute in a variable then only i can further go for 15 minute orb strategy , but in your videos it simply compared ltp of current high and low.
  • tahseen
    @samphel First of all this program is a total mess. You don't do so much condition inside on_tick. Anyway I wouldn't want to get into that detail