Can we place orders on multiple stocks at the same time ?

BigFudge
Hello All,
I am basically a pair / basket trader . I wanted to know if coded on python , does Kite connect have the ability to place these orders of buy/sell on 2-3 stocks at the same time ? or is kite's capacity limited to only focusing on one stock at a time ?

Regards,
BigFudge
  • sujith
    HI @BigFudge,
    You can place only one order at a time, you can write a loop and place orders.
  • BigFudge
    Hi sujith,
    Currently my codes do the analysis and generate a buy and sell single for a pair of stocks together in python. Now what u mean by creating a loop for the orders.
    Would this be a additional oder execution code which we will be writing using kite python library?
    And my buy and sell single is created on a basket of stocks so if a buy is created.
    It generally means.. Buy 1lot of nifty
    Sell 1lot of infy
    And sell 1lot of TCS .
    Would love some kind of clarification form the kite team
  • sujith
    It will be something like this,

basket = [orders]

for(i = 0; i < basket.length; i++){
    placeOrder(basket[i]);
    }
    You can take a look at python documentation here for more information.
  • BigFudge
    BigFudge edited March 2017
    Ah , thats what I was looking for . Thanks a ton sujith .

Also , I wanted to know . If i code it in python , can i run the stratergy on a virtual platform like how they do it in robotrader or symphony ?
    only then we will get a realistic look on the slippage and the bugs in the codes ..
    does kite connect have anything like that ?

and also what is the time lagg between single generation and order execution ?
  • sujith
    @BigFudge,
    We don't have sandbox environment. It is on our list, as of now our priority is revamping of core API.
    As of now, the feasible solution would be placing orders post-market which will be rejected but you can see orders in the order book.