suraj
I am a newbie to kiteconnect. Here's my first code

from kiteconnect import KiteConnect
api_key ='XXXXXX'
secret ='XXXXX'
kite = KiteConnect(api_key)
request_token = kite.login_url()
print request_token
access_token = kite.request_access_token(request_token, secret)

And my code ends up giving this error.

File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/kiteconnect/__init__.py", line 208, in request_access_token

File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/kiteconnect/__init__.py", line 376, in _post

File "build/bdist.linux-x86_64/egg/kiteconnect/__init__.py", line 459, in _request

kiteconnect.exceptions.TokenException: Invalid session credentials

can anybody please tell me what's problem with my code and why am I getting this error?
  • suraj
    suraj edited March 2016
    Ok, I got to know that the problem I had was with getting request token. I need to redirect the login URL to get request token. I redirected the URL by doing

response = requests.request('PUT', login_url,verify=False)

Then I tried to parse the response. According to the document the response was supposed to be of content-type 'JSON' so I tried this

json_data = json.loads(response.text)

but my code ends up saying
    'ValueError: No JSON object could be decoded
    '
    Now I am unable to parse the response I am getting. Can anybody please help me with this?
    Can I get the sample code to parse the response and get request_token.
  • Kailash
    Response from the API is in JSON but once you use the pykiteconnect (which you are), the results are Python data structures (list, dict etc.). You don't need to use the JSON library,
  • suraj
    suraj edited March 2016
    Thanks for the Reply kailash.

api_key ='XXXXXX'
    secret ='XXXXX'
    login_url = kite.login_url()
    request_token = ?

Can you please tell me how to get request token using kiteconnect API?
  • Kailash