Sample python code to get the access token

Praveen_Tyagi
Hi Guys,
After logging in manually on kite.zerodha.

When I type following url on browser(https://kite.trade/connect/login?api_key=xxx) it redirects me to 127.0.0.1/?status=success&request_token=zzzz and then I could manually copy this token for further processing but when I perform the same thing programmatically my request is not being directed to 127.0.0.1/?zzzzzzzzzzz.

Here is my sample program.
import requests
url = 'https://kite.trade/connect/login?api_key=xxx'
resp = requests.post(url)
r.text

But i don't get same response back. I am new to Kiteconnect. Could you please help me resolving this problem probably some sample code?

Thanks in advance

Praveen Tyagi
  • sujith
    Hi @Praveen_Tyagi,

It is mandatory by exchange that user has to login manually. Don't automate login.
  • Praveen_Tyagi
    @sujith ; I am not trying to automate the login but the extraction of access_code, which is required to communicate with kiteconnect.

I always manually login and answer security question before running my script. So i am always logged in via browser. I can get the access_code manually and pass that to my script. But currently i am not running my script continuously but I run my script make some changes and re-run my script. In order to run 2nd time I have to collect the token once again manually and pass new token to script. That is a bit annoying . I was thinking of automating 'Collection of Access Code'.

If it is still not clear please provide me a suitable number to reach you guys. Would love to give you a call to discuss this.

Thanks

• sujith
    @Praveen_Tyagi,

Just store access token, why do you have to fetch it every time.
  • Praveen_Tyagi
    @sujith - It is invalidating that token and give us 'invalid credentials error ' if I stop my debugger and re-run the script. again. Probably because when i run it again it spawns a new process.

• Praveen_Tyagi
    guys any update here.
  • sujith