Amibroker/Excel Kite bridge Security risk

chetank
Hi All,

I was planning on using commercial Amibroker Kite bridge(e.g etatrader. robotrader).

However , i see that the api_key and api_secret has to be embedded/saved in these desktop bridge Apps.

But as per Kite docs , its says

"Never expose your api_secret by embedding it in a mobile app or a client side application. Do not expose the access_token you obtain for a session to the public either."

Now , i am no security expert, but aren't these apps dangerous by embedding/saving all user access data in the bridge app?

Please shed some light on this topic.
  • mrkaran
    Hey chetank.

> Now , i am no security expert, but aren't these apps dangerous by embedding/saving all user access data in the bridge app?

Yes you're right. Sharing the `api_key` and `api_secret` is just like sharing a username/password with a 3rd party. They can generate a session anytime and login and do all sorts of activities (as scoped by the permissions granted to the app) with it.

It's advisable to not share your API keys and secrets with any 3rd party app. All such apps should implement a proper login workflow where only the access key is stored with the 3rd party (which you can revoke anytime, should the need arise).

• HowUTrade
    @chetank

This is w.r.t our software EtaTrader.

1. Your credentials are stored in your local computer only, credentials are encrypted before saving and decrypted while loading the software. You can check the user settings file at
    C:\Users\Administrator\AppData\Local\Howutrade_Software_Soluti\EtaZerodha.exe_StrongName_*************\1.0.0.0\user.config
    For someone to get your api key and secret, they must get access to your computer and they should know the encryption key. We hope it is tough.

2. Risk is more when you use web apps, where your all credentials (including client id and password) are stored in the 3rd party server. Example web apps: tradetron etc.