Share your auto trading experience

revendar
I've been a discretionary trader for past 4 years. I'm seriously considering to get some strategy live.
I'm currently using python and zerodha to get my strategy live. I could not see a discussion on sharing one's experience in auto trading. I'm not looking for any specific details on strategy. No one will share that.
I want to know about the learnings, what to look for, do's/dont's, slippages, and ideas to diversify strategy on different market conditions, how to wisely make use of spread in execution strategy, backup systems in case of primary system failover, etc.

This would help new traders to gain insight and some direction.
  • revendar
    I will share some basic things which can help for beginners. Getting a strategy live requires the following.

1. Infrastructure - A good server with decent specifications. It can be a windows/unix/any other.
    2. Data feed - Again this should go along your server. I see lot of RT datafeed clients in india are windows based as most people use Amibroker. But when we go for standard provider we would get platform independent datafeed. We should choose a lightweight software for this. I have used multiple datafeeds which are primarily windows based but they will literally freeze the server. I found zerodha websocket to be platform independent and lightweight. Though back filling looks slow.