How to store web streaming data in pandas dataframe

CuriousTrader
Hi,

I am new to python and trying to understand how the can I store data that is received in on_tick function in pandas dataframe as in can I pass a dataframe as an argument in on_tick function.

Or is there any way to store the data so that I can calculate Technical indicators like Bollinger/ MACD/ RSI.
  • Vivek
    @CuriousTrader You can't send extra arguments in on_tick function but you can call your functions from on_tick function. Similarly you can have logic to write data to file or database from on_tick function.
  • sabyasm
    Add the below line in github example:

df = pd.DataFrame(tick)
  • CuriousTrader
    @sabyasm - Will it append the tick data in dataframe ?
  • AnkitDoshi
    First you will have to convert the Tick data to DF in pandas.
    You can do something like this-
    import pandas as pd
    Tick=pd.DataFrame(tick)

Also you can export this data to excel
    Tick.to_excel('Tick.xlsx', sheet_name='Tick', index=False)
  • nithishkailas
    from kiteconnect import WebSocket as wb
    kws = wb(api_key, public_token, user_id)
    import pandas
    def on_tick(tick, ws) : print(tick,"\n")
    def on_tick(tick,ws) : new = pandas.DataFrame(tick,ws)
    def on_connect(ws): ws.subscribe[408065]
    def on_connect(ws):ws.set_mode(ws.MODE_LTP,[408065])
    kws.on_tick=on_tick
    kws.on_connect=on_connect
    kws.connect()

THIS CODE IS SHOWING ME THIS ERROR

ERROR:websocket:error from callback >: 'WebSocket' object is not iterable

• RP3436
    Hi
    I am new to python and API applications but Technical Analysis is my domain. I look forward to help / guidance till data receiving and management. I have read most of the discussions in the category Websocket and Python client and also gained some understanding on numPy,Pandas and sqlite3. I have few silly and basic questions , if someone can take pain to answer -