Few questions related to Kite API

nikhilds
nikhilds edited March 21 in Python client
I'm new to Zerodha Kite API. Below are my questions
1. Will my browser session get logged out if I use Kite API?
2. Can I place order for other users using my API key or is it only for access to my personal account?
3. Is price Rs 2000/month only plan to get access to the API ? is there a free plan ?
Thanks .
Tagged:
  • sujith
    You need to log into Kite web and then login to Kite Connect app.
    Kite Connect is provided only for personal use only. One can't access other client data with it.
    You can know more about the subscriptions on the FAQs.
  • nikhilds
    thanks for answering.
    A follow up question. So when I am using my API(after getting access token), will my browser session be logged out ? or sustain ?
  • MAG
    MAG edited March 22
    @nikhilds
    That depends on how you generate your access token.
    Many people try to automate or semiautomate the flow and in that automation they end up opening a new browser window for kite which logs out the previous session.

Keep this simple thing in mind. If you log in to another browser instance, your previous kite session will be invalidated. Avoid that and you will be fine.

So the ideal flow will be.
    1. Open a browser window
    2. log into kite.trade
    3. In the same browser session/preferably the same tab, open developers.kite.trade.
    4. Login to developers.kite.trade.
    5. paste the https://kite.zerodha.com/connect/login?v=3&api_key="api_key" into the address bar and hit enter.
    6. copy the request token from the returned url string.
    7. use the request token to generate the access token. (within 30 seconds or so, or the request token expires)
    8. copy the access token and save it in a file or db where any and all scripts using the kite api can read from.
    9. Hit back twice to return to kite.trade

Of course there can be a few minor variations to this flow.

A few things here.