ERROR:kiteconnect.ticker:Connection error: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly

mld
Hi Team,

I am new to Python client for the Kite Connect trading API. I am using Ubuntu 14.04 LTS.

Installed Python client using pip install kiteconnect --upgrade --pre

pip show kiteconnect showing kiteconnect version 3.7.0b5

Today I ran the the official example (from github) of how to run KiteTicker in threaded mode through terminal.
For the first run it produced desired output. But I terminated the program using Ctrl + C.
After that whenever I am trying to run the official example, I am getting the following error:

INFO:root:This is main thread. Will change webosocket mode every 5 seconds.
ERROR:kiteconnect.ticker:Connection error: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly (WebSocket connection upgrade failed (403 - Forbidden))
INFO:root:Connection error: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly (WebSocket connection upgrade failed (403 - Forbidden))
ERROR:kiteconnect.ticker:Connection closed: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly (WebSocket connection upgrade failed (403 - Forbidden))
INFO:root:Connection closed: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly (WebSocket connection upgrade failed (403 - Forbidden))

How to correct it and what is the correct way of closing the websocket connection cleanly?

• sujith
    You need a valid access token to connect to Kite Ticker. It seems like you are not passing a valid api key or access token.
  • tanigai
    facing similar problem
    ERROR:kiteconnect.ticker:Connection closed: 1006 - connection was closed uncleanly (WebSocket connection upgrade failed (403 - Forbidden))

even though i gave valid api key and access token
  • sujith
    @tanigai,
    The new Kite Ticker expects valid credentials for connecting to the ticker. If you see 403 then it means either api_key is invalid or access token is invalid.
  • rvsw
    Hello