What is the reason behind API pricing?

satasiyavivek
Hello Sir,

I am a software engineer by profession & I have been using zerodha platform for trading since long time and I love the kite platform.

After spending time in trading, got to know that without any technical analysis going for trading blindly is not good. So started learning technical analysis so that I can do trading with much better sense. After learning technical analysis, I have realised that being a software engineer, I can write an algo which can automatically do analysis on behalf of me and do trading. So I started researching about the stock market data api and I got to know that Zerodha has been already providing the api. That's very nice. I can write my own algo. So started exploring the kite api documentation and finally got to know that zerodha API is not free for individual developers. We need to pay 2000 bucks/month for just using API. I totally disappointed.

I want to create my own algo engine and if it works then want to create recommendation engine for others. So others can also take advantage but entry point for getting data is too high as per indian market for individual developer.

I am sure that you might have long discussions internally for api pricing & very good reason to have this price but this is really a hurdle for developers like me who want to start with their ideas. No one knows which idea get good success with good efforts like Zerodha.

I know that you have kept free for startups but to become a startup, first we need to act upon the idea and if it works then only we can invest much for on our idea.

If you would open your api for free, then it may possible that many developers can try their idea with your api and some idea may get the good success. Free apis will be your help to them.

Angel has opened its smart API for free. Good gesture for developer community.

I just want to hear from you guys. What are your thoughts?

Thank you sir.
Regards,
Vivek Satasiya.