Did everything work properly today from 9:15 to 9:20?

KamalChhirang
KamalChhirang edited February 5 in General
I encountered a very strange issue today.

Around 09:15:36, the get positions API seemed to return last_price as 0 for all my positions. “https://api.kite.trade/portfolio/positions”

Between 09:19 and 09:20, the get quote API seemed to return incorrect values which caused my function to malfunction. During the same period, the Kite Web application was also unresponsive for 10-20 seconds.

Unfortunately, I could not log the data that the Kite API returned. I only log the results when I get an error from the Kite API (such as timeout). But this was not an error, the results were probably returned and they were wrong. I have been using the Kite API for 3 years, and this has never happened to me before. I either get an error or the results returned are accurate. But not today

I am 90% confident that these problems were caused by some issue in the Kite API. 10%, maybe there was some bug in my code. If something went wrong with the Kite API, maybe other users also experienced some trouble or you recorded some errors on your end.

@HowUTrade you are also a power user, did you face any problems today?

Tagged:
  • KamalChhirang
    I am consistently getting this response when fetching prices at least one time between 09:15 to 09:16 in last 4-5 trading days. Please fix it @rakeshr @sujith

504 Gateway Time-out

The server didn't respond in time.
  • sujith
    @KamalChhirang,
    Is this Quote or LTP API?
  • KamalChhirang
    KamalChhirang edited February 6
    Quote API. @sujith

My code froze for a few seconds because of this, which messed up a lot of things today.

Today, I added a timeout to the code (HTTP API). What value of timeout is good? I am using 0.8 seconds, but it also seems too much. Usually, Kite API takes 0.2 seconds with 700 symbols. But during peak hours, it also takes more time like 0.4, 0.6 seconds.